Your Subtitle text

2014 Youth Books Awards

Kate DiCamillo

the 2014 Newbery Medalist for
Flora and Ulysses (Candlewick).

Newbery Honor Books: Doll Boneby Holly Black (S&S/McElderry); The Year of Billy Miller by Kevin Henkes (Greenwillow); One Came Home by Amy Timberlake (Knopf); and Paperboy by Vince Vawter (Delacorte).

Brian Floca

the 2014 Caldecott Medalist for Locomotive (S&S/Atheneum/Jackson)

Caldecott Honor BooksJourney by Aaron Becker (Candlewick); Flora and the Flamingo by Molly Idle (Chronicle); and Mr. Wuffles! by David Wiesner (Clarion).

Marcus Sedgwick 

  the 2014 Michael L. Printz Award winner for Midwinterblood (Roaring Brook)

Four Printz HonorsEleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell (St. Martin’s Griffin); Kingdom of Little Wounds by Susann Cokal (Candlewick); Maggot Moon by Sally Gardner (Candlewick); and Navigating Early by Clare Vanderpool (Delacorte).

Writers Susan L. Roth and Cindy Trumbore
 and illustrator by Susan L. Roth were given the SibertAward for most distinguished informational book for young readers (Lee and Low).

Sibert Honors:A Splash of Red: The Life and Art of Horace Pippin, written by Jen Bryant, illustrated by Melissa Sweet (Knopf); Look Up! Bird-Watching in Your Own Backyard by Annette LeBlanc Cate (Candlewick); Locomotive by Brian Floca (S&S/Atheneum/Jackson); and The Mad Potter: George E. Ohr, Eccentric Genius, written by Jan Greenberg and Sandra Jordan (Roaring Brook/Porter).

Truus Matti, was given the Batchelder Award for Mister Orange, translated from the Dutch by Laura Watkinson 

Batchelder Honor: 
The Bathing Costume or the Worst Vacation of My Life by Charlotte Moundlic, illustrated by Olivier Talle, translated from the French by Claudia Zoe Bedrick (Enchanted Lion); My Father’s Arms Are a Boat by Stein Erik Lunde, illustrated by Øyvind Torseter, translated from the Norwegian by Kari Dickson; and The War Within These Walls by Aline Sax, illustrated by Caryl Strzeleck, translated from the Dutch by Laura Watkinson (Eerdmans).

The Theodor Seuss Geisel Award for most distinguished beginning reader books was awarded to The Watermelon Seed by Greg Pizzoli (Disney-Hyperion).

Geisel Honor Books: Ballby Mary Sullivan (Houghton Mifflin); A Big Guy Took My Ball! by Mo Willems (Hyperion); and Penny and Her Marble by Kevin Henkes (Greenwillow).

Rita Williams-Garcia received the Coretta Scott King Author award for P.S. Be Eleven (HarperCollins/Amistad).

King Author Honor Books: March: Book One by John Lewis and Andrew Aydin, illustrated by Nate Powell (Top Shelf);Darius & Twig by Walter Dean Myers (HarperCollins/Amistad); and Words with Wingsby Nikki Grimes (Highlights/Wordsong).

Bryan Collier was given the Coretta Scott King Illustrator Award for Knock Knock: My Dad’s Dream for Me, written by Daniel Beaty (Little, Brown).

Illustrator Honor Book: Nelson Mandela by Kadir Nelson (HarperCollins/Tegen).

The William C. Morris Award for a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens was given to Charm & Strange by Stephanie Kuehn (St. Martin’s Griffin).

Other Morris Award Finalists: Sex & Violence by Carrie Mesrobian (Carolrhoda LAB); Dr. Bird’s Advice for Sad Poets by Evan Roskos (Houghton Mifflin); Belle Epoque by Elizabeth Ross (Delacorte); and In the Shadow of Blackbirds by Cat Winters (Abrams/Amulet).

The Schneider Family Book Awards, given to books that artistically express the disability experience, went to A Splash of Red: The Life and Art of Horace Pippin by Jen Bryant, illustrated by Melissa Swee (Knopf) for best young children’s book; 

Handbook for Dragon Slayers by Merrie Haskell (HarperCollins) for best middle grade book; 

and Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein (Hyperion) for best teen book.

Meg Medina was awarded the Pura Belpré Author Award for Yaqui Delgado Wants to Kick Your Ass (Candlewick). 

Author Honor Books: The Lightning Dreamer: Cuba’s Greatest Abolitionist by Margarita Engle (Harcourt)The Living by Matt de la Peña (Delacorte); and Pancho Rabbit and the Coyote: A Migrant’s Tale by Duncan Tonatiuh (Abrams).

The Pura Belpré Illustrator Award went to Yuji Morales for Niño Wrestles the World (Roaring Brook/Porter).

Belpré Illustrator Honor Books: Maria Had a Little Llama María Tenía una Llamit by

Angela Dominguez (Henry Holt); Tito Puente: Mambo

King/Reydel Mamboillustrated by Rafael López, written by Monica Brown (Harper Collins/Rayo);  and Pancho Rabbit and the Coyote: A Migrant’s Tale by DuncanTonatiuh (Abrams).

The Stonewall Book Award, went to Beautiful Music for Ugly Children by Kirstin Cronn-Mills (Flux) and Fat Angie by e. E. Charlton-Trujillo for its exceptional merit as a book relating to the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender experience 

Stonewall Honor Books: Better Nate Than Ever by Tim Federle (S&S); Branded by the Pink Triangle by Ken Setterington (Second Story); and Two Boys Kissing by David Levithan (Knopf).

The Odyssey Award for Excellence in Audiobook Production was given to Scowler, written by Daniel Kraus, narrated by Kirby Heyborne. (Listening Library).

Odyssey Honors: Better Nate Than Ever, written and narrated by Tim Federle (Simon and Schuster Audio); Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell, narrated by Rebecca Lowman and Sunil Malhotra (Listening Library); and Matilda by Roald Dahl, narrated by Kate Winslet (Penguin Audio).

The Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Children’s Video went to Paul R. Gagne and Melissa Reilly Ellard, producers of Bink & Gollie: Two for One (Weston Woods).

Patricia and Fredrick McKissack were honored with the Coretta Scott King–Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement.

The 2014 Margaret A. Edwards Award for lifetime contribution in writing for young adults was given to Markus Zusak.  

Brian Selznick will give the 2015 May Hill Arbuthnot Honor Lecture.